Photography

Basilica of St. John Lateran, Rome


Dedicated to John the Baptist and John the Evangelist, the Basilica of St. John Lateran (Basilica di San Giovanni in Laterano) is the first among the four major basilicas of Rome. Built by Constantine the Great in the 4th century, San Giovanni in Laterano was the first church to be built in Rome. It contains several important relics, a lovely 13th-century cloister and an ancient baptistery (San Giovanni in Fonte).

An earlier post details the spectacular interior! 

More Rome updates on www.kerstenbeck.com

3 responses

  1. Great shot Erik! I love the sky. How old is that building that’s connected to the church?

    January 18, 2011 at 7:27 am

  2. First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts prior to writing. I have had a difficult
    time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply
    just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Appreciate it!

    February 20, 2013 at 10:17 am

    • Hi

      And thank you so much for visiting! I try to write first thing in the morning after a good nights sleep when the mind is still uncluttered by the events of the day. :-)

      February 22, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,998 other followers