Photography

If Only…


If Only I had eaten my Wheaties this morning….

Thoughts beginning with these words are pregnant with our deepest feelings. “If only I had told her (him) of my love, life would be so much different”, “If only I had enough money, I could be free to enjoy life” or in the case of the Jockey who came in second at a horse race at Del Mar in California, “If only I had made my move in the third turn!” Clearly, the look in his eyes is brimming with resentments and if onlys! If onlys can be directed to the past, present and the future – we are somehow hoping outside events will save us or make us different or better.

However, we can change our programming, catch ourselves and chose to think something completely different! The rational mind, after all, is a servant to our programming, or as we have trained it in the past. There is nothing to prevent us from changing the software algorithms! Realize that the only power past events hold over us is what we give them. Just as you have created your perceptions of the past, the creative power within you can create a joy-filled today! Here is a thought for today:

“This is the beginning of a new day given to me to use as I will. I can waste it or use it for good. What I do today is important as I am exchanging a day of my life for it. When tomorrow arrives, this day will be gone forever, leaving in its place what I traded for it. I want what I traded to be gain and not loss, good and not evil, success, not failure…in order that I shall not forget the price I paid for it.”

Today is Friday, May 11, 2012. It is the only Friday, May 11, 2012 that you will ever have…make it a great one!

5 responses

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head with this one. Nice capture on the expression.

    May 11, 2012 at 8:43 am

  2. Very nice, love the bokeh

    May 11, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  3. great catch, love the shallow DoF

    May 11, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,990 other followers