Photography

Perfect Timing


Perfect Timing

I was inspired by Macro Photographers who solved the problem of Depth of Field when shooting Bugs. It’s hard to get antennae to body in focus – its just optics. I discovered an image merging software circa 1988 that allows one to take multiple shots with different focus points, merge them all together to produce one perfect Marco. (Click the image to get a good resolution)

This shot was an attempt to get the entire watch in focus,  but finally I selectively chose the foreground image of the chain and the SUN SAT on the dial. (This one was 10 shots in total moving the focus up from the chain to the top of the watch…I will study further to perfect this)

The software is “CombineZM” and is designed to blend the focused areas of several partially focused digital photographs in order to create a composite image with an extended depth of field (DOF), created from the in-focus areas of each image. This is essential for product photography (and Bugs). And its Free!

More at www.kerstenbeck.com

2 responses

  1. My jaw just hit the floor, I’ve never heard of such a thing. The results are astounding Erik, I LOVE this! I think I might take a whack at this myself a little later, but in the meantime I cannot wait to see more of your work! Great stuff, my friend.

    January 30, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  2. Very sweet! Love the DOF ranges on the watch, that’s a cool little piece of freeware.

    February 7, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

