Photography

Labelled


This is a shot of a bottom lit slice of  Blood Orange from our Studio. It seems like everything has a label – I saw an apple in the grocery store that had a sticker “Sodium Free”!

The first use of barcodes was to label railroad cars, but they were not commercially successful until they were used to automate spermarket checkout systems, a task for which they have become almost universal. Their use has spread to many other tasks that are generically referred to as Auto ID Capture (AIDC). The very first scanning of the now ubiquitous Universal Product Code (UPC) barcode was on a pack of  Wrigley chewing gum in June 1974. www.kerstenbeck.com

10 responses

  1. I came here via the DPS post I was reading about experimentation. I absolutely love your image. The colour, the mood…everything. Wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

    May 17, 2011 at 7:16 am

  2. Madison Raine

    I came from reviewing the post from articles on DPS. And I absolutely love this picture. I do wish a bit more of it was clear and not as blurt but still; good job!

    May 17, 2011 at 12:23 pm

  3. AAHernal

    came here through dps…this is nice, good job.

    June 30, 2011 at 9:52 am

  4. This is awesome! And such a great teaching tool for me. I stopped by from DPS and i love learning more! Thank you 🙂

    November 30, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    • You are so welcome. Please feel free to ask ANY questions! We are more than happy to help! Kindest regards, Kathleen and Erik

      November 30, 2011 at 10:48 pm

  5. king

    sorry dear, but the photo sucks. it looks like a pizza on the stove. Not sure if the sticker is intentional, it actually is adding to the woes.

    December 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  6. Jill Greyson

    I, on the other hand, think this photo is very creative. I would have never thought to do something like that. Excellent work!

    May 14, 2013 at 6:00 am

    • Jill Greyson

      One question: How did you light it? Did you put it on a flashlight? Contrary to king, I think the bar code sticker adds to the picture. I also love the interesting info you give with it. 🙂

      May 14, 2013 at 6:03 am

      • I put it on a piece of glass lit from underneath and above…thanks for the kind comments

        May 14, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

