Photography

Paris in the Spring


On my birthday to our surprise Erik received his Green Card- now this might not seem like that big of a deal- but considering we had been working through the process before 9/11 and had to cancel the Paris trip we had planned when that tragedy hit, seeing that notice was just amazing.  I immediately went to the computer and booked our trip again to our dream vacation.

We arrived in Paris in April of 2004 and it was just breath taking.  There is truly something very magical about Paris, and I’m not sure if it is the beauty of the buildings, the incredible art everywhere you look- or just the fact that we were there together- but I must say, Paris has been one of the most memorable and beautiful places I have been in my lifetime.

Now please take into account when viewing the shots- this is very amateur photography- but beautiful city, beautiful memories.

 

10 responses

  1. bikerrally

    Kathleen,

    Although you might consider this amateur, your talent and/or Eric’s shines through.
    Simply beautiful.

    Gary

    March 31, 2012 at 11:41 pm

  2. Wonderful Kathleen. I took my wife there for her birthday one year (and the kids), your pictures bring it flooding back, especially driving around Arc d’ Triumph after a wrong turn.

    March 31, 2012 at 11:41 pm

  3. Absolutely beautiful. It brings back nice memories of my years spent in Garches, right outside Paris.

    March 31, 2012 at 11:47 pm

  4. Thank you all, so very much! Kathleen

    March 31, 2012 at 11:50 pm

  5. Ô Paris, ma ville… Mais je préfère Rouen en Normandie…

    I live in Paris… But if you visit my photo blog you’ll see the streets that a tourist don’t visit… And Rouen, a must, The English killed Jeanne D’arc there… But the tower where she was prisoner is gone, but the other one is still there…

    Ciao

    April 1, 2012 at 4:42 am

  6. Thank you Maria for the information- we have another trip to Paris planned for 2014 when our Granddaughter turns 16- the first time we went- it was touristy stuff the entire time- next time, we would like to actually dive in to the heart of it all. We are subscribed to your blog and will definately keep watching the posts. And if you are open to it- we shall meet when we are there?

    April 1, 2012 at 6:35 am

    • I would to meet you, I believe I gonna stay in Paris anyway… Thank you for following me, I’m a painter from the beginning, maybe should I show some of my art on my blog…

      April 1, 2012 at 7:23 am

  7. Yes- I would include the art as well as the photography!

    April 1, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  8. Like previous comments, these photos remind me of my last trip to Paris – a place I would love to return to again and again. A photographer’s paradise for sure. My wife and I were there in October 2009 to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Your photo of the Louvre reminded me of this one I took (http://www.flickr.com/photos/15421875@N08/4274058703/in/set-72157624253381679). I caught an Asian couple being photographed for their wedding. A spontaneous moment that cannot be recreated. – Al

    April 2, 2012 at 6:07 am

  9. Al- that is a great shot! Love the joy on the bride’s face and the color of the dress. And I agree, a photographers paradise. When we were there in 2004, I had the digital- my husband was using his trusty Mamiya large format camera- those photos adorn my office walls even to this day with all of the travels we have made.

    April 2, 2012 at 8:22 am

Leave a Reply

