Photography

2005 Napa, California


Erik & I used to watch a show on TV called “Trading Spaces” and there was a designer that I was OBSESSED with!  His name was Doug Wilson, and no matter what he did to me it was the perfect design.  One of which I copied in our Master bedroom and to this date I really think my husband hates it!

Anyway, Doug designed a bedroom in a B&B in Napa and I seriously could not get there fast enough to sleep in this room.  It was at the Old World Inn, the room was fabulous, though very small and the other people that stayed there were quite entertaining as well.  We met one couple from Chicago that the guy was a Zin fanatic.  Every single day he went in search of the perfect Zin at the wineries and I thought he was nuts!  But, needless to say, this “White Wine” only girl ended up tasting a very nice Zin at Ledsen Winery and I was sold immediately.

We had purchased a used 500SL Mercedes a couple of months before the trip and we drove it all the way up the Coast from San Diego to Napa and back- top down, wind in our hair and never even thought about the fact that any wine we purchased would need to be packed in that small car along with our suitcases.  It was quite funny because the first day we were “shopping on an empty stomach” and purchased a total of 2 cases of wine combined from several vineyards and then of course you have the 2 free tasting glasses that go with each tasting- it was not until we had to pack our suitcases back in the car that we realized our issue- but we are a team and we made it work and on the way out of town when we stopped at our last winery- we were smart enough to ship home!!

I was on a mission to get the perfect “grape” shot- so I made it home with over 500 images of grape after grape after grape- these are my favorites.

8 responses

  1. I love these Kathleen. The colors are fantastic!

    April 4, 2012 at 7:56 pm

  2. Thank you Jerry- I do love my grapes!!

    April 4, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  3. great colours Kathleen

    April 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm

  4. jimdenham

    Gorgeous images of the grapes and vines! So rich in color and textures!

    April 5, 2012 at 4:11 am

  5. Tim P

    Great shots!. We get up to Napa a few times a year. It helps to have family working there in “the business”. I was wondering if you did an post production on the shots. I have taken hundreds of shots and for the most part, I usually don’t do much to them. They look great!

    April 5, 2012 at 7:38 am

  6. Good grief, now I am thirsty..

    April 5, 2012 at 9:49 am

  7. Awesome work here! Love the shapes and colors in them there grapes!

    April 5, 2012 at 10:14 am

  8. Tim- I believe for these I put them through “topaz” for a more spicey look.

    April 5, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

