Photography

Networking


x-360
I hate “Networking”…I do not have “The American Smile and Hand Shake”
I am uncomfortable in crowds of more than One
Once, a special other said, “Get yourself out there” So, I did
Volunteering to be a Grip, Humping Lights around, told to do This and That by a wonderful Friend and Photographer from San Diego, Ken Williams
He looked at every picture I had taken, and was Harsh in his comments – like Daggers sometimes. But, on occasion he would throw out his Iconic Statement of Approval “Well Seen” (now I use that on occasion, only)
 Ken is not with us any more, but strangely he Opened a Door for me as I have met so many amazing people since that time. I guess it was the start of “Networking”. It still terrifies me!
I kept pushing myself and opportunities somehow arise. I do a lot of “Free” work – Events, Models, etc. Why? Because it pushes me to be a better Photographer!
Yeah, so what you say? Because….
There are so many Creative People all around you, Musicians, Writers, Designers….Just reach out! Creatives will enrich your Life
I met Melanie Monsters from “Networking”
Listen to Her Music…I think it is Profound….
 
Melanie Monsters is a Cassically trained pianist that has been playing piano since the age of 5. Even in elementary school she remembers writing music and entering it into contests and was in every school band since fourth grade up until high school. After college, Melanie did a brief stint in a funk band and later joined the ska/ reggae/ jazz band, “The Amalgamated” and also the band “Unsteady” 
 

Piano: First you must learn to play by the Rules. Then you must forget the rules and play from your heart.”

“Music can name the unnameable and communicate the unknowable” – Leonard Bernstein

 

7 responses

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed Melanie’s music as well as your beautiful image. Blessings, Robyn

    November 20, 2013 at 8:38 am

  2. radfloyd

    Great portrait. Even captured the dirt on the car! 🙂

    November 20, 2013 at 12:54 pm

  3. I prefer to sit alone working on photos…..but must do all the rest to have images and line up shoots, etc….forces me to be more social….I think creative types are either very shy and introverted, or very extroverted…..though many actors that appear comfortable in crowds usually say, in interviews, they also are actually shy.

    February 4, 2014 at 11:28 am

Leave a comment